Robert Colescott: The Cairo Years | The American University in Cairo, New Cairo, Egypt

February 9 – March 31, 2021

More information on the exhibition

The American University in Cairo is proud to present four paintings made by American modernist Robert Colescott during the two years in which he lived and worked in Cairo as a researcher, artist, and the first Visiting Professor of Art at AUC—where he was also the first African American professor who curated the first art exhibition, at the first art gallery in the University’s history. Please join us during Black History Month 2021 to celebrate a selection of Colescott’s Cairo paintings along with compelling archival documents, images, and records surrounding his work.

Curated by Terri Ginsberg, Duncan MacDonald, and Matthew Weseley.

 

Related Programming at AUC

Robert Colescott: The Cairo Years in Context
Presentation with exhibition curator Matthew Weseley
Thursday, February 11
7:30-9:30pm EET, 9:30-11:30am PT
Access the live-stream here.

Lecture by Erin Christovale, Associate Curator
at the Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, CA
Monday, February 22
7:30-9pm EET, 9:30-11am PT
Access the live-stream here.

Robert Colescott’s Fractured Modernisms
Lecture by Dr. Dennis Broe
Monday, March 1
7:30-9pm EET, 9:30-11am PT
Access the live-stream here.

 

Our website uses cookies to improve user experience. Please click here to learn more.
By continuing to browse you are giving us your consent to our use of cookies.
I Accept
Blum & Poe Los Angeles is open, walk-ins welcome. Blum & Poe Tokyo is open by appointment only. Make a reservation here.